Tags

, , ,


Yesterday, when I “downgrading” my Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid-Ibex to Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy-Heron LTS. I’ve found a bug after upgrading my Hardy via repositories, I can’t launch ccsm.

When I launch ccsm via terminal, the following message is appeared:

Traceback (most recent call last):

File “/usr/bin/ccsm”, line 38, in <module>

import compizconfig

ImportError: /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/compizconfig.so: undefined symbol: ccsGetPluginStrExtensions

I’ve tried fix it with reinstalling compizconfig-setting-manager, but it comes with a null. So I tried navigating to /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/ to find a compizconfig.so, but it’s already there. Because I have no knowledge about linux programming, so I assume that my compizconfig.so are damaged or what.

Then I go to http://packages.ubuntu.com/ to find which package that have compizconfig.so inside. Iyaap, I found it, the package name is python-compizconfig.

Finally I fixed it with reinstalling compizconfig-setting-manager and python-compizconfig,😀

$ sudo apt-get purge compizconfig-setting-manager python-compizconfig

and

$ sudo apt-get install compizconfig-setting-manager python-compizconfig