Tags

, , , ,


sleep with laptop

sleep with laptop -_-

I‘ve an Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy installed on my Acer Aspire 4520. It comes with some issues, sometimes can sleep/hibernate sometimes no. But somedays ago (I think it’s to late to write this :p), sleep and hibernate works perfectly!!!


Some causes that make the system couldn’t sleep/hibernate: (my experience)

  • Madwifi, the driver is couldn’t unloaded during sleep process. There are some solution to fix it, such as create the sleep script to make it unloaded before sleep. But it comes a null (in my system). Dunno why . . .

So, replacing madwifi with ndiswrapper may fix it.

  • Swap device, some configuration files may not synchronized. The swap device’s UUID in /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume and /etc/fstab is must be synchronized.

To find out the swap’s UUID :

$ sudo blkid -c /dev/null

my output (for example):

/dev/sda5: TYPE=”swap” UUID=”987a5827-3993-45f2-b584-a65aaf894bdb”

We’ve to use the UUID for the device with swap type (TYPE=”swap”), so the current active swap’s UUID is 987a5827-3993-45f2-b584-a65aaf894bdb.

Just copy it to /etc/fstab

$ sudo nano /etc/fstab

my swap line in fstab (for example):

# /dev/sda5

UUID=987a5827-3993-45f2-b584-a65aaf894bdb none swap sw 0 0

Just change the UUID to yours (printed by previous step)

Now go to edit /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume file

$ sudo nano /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume

Do the same action😉 copy the UUID, so the file contents will look like this:

RESUME=UUID=987a5827-3993-45f2-b584-a65aaf894bdb

remember!! use your UUID, don’t use my UUID :p (he he he)

Last, just reboot and try to sleep/hibernate, it should works!! amieeen😉

Owh yeah, i’m forgot. Recently, when I’m tried to apply this methode to my friend’s notebook, it fails.

But when install the uswusp, the sleep/hibernate works 98%😉

download uswusp here, install it, reconfiguring it:

$ wget -c http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=45483&package_id=38163&release_id=565128

$ cd suspend-0.8

$ ./configure

$ make

$ sudo make install

Some question will appearred, just answar it safely, reboot . . And it should works

~Thanks, I hope it works for you too~